top of page

Typographic Voice

In this project I saw Typography in a whole new spotlight where typeface and its font family plays a huge role in the compositional factor of Visual communication in Design.


For starters we learned the compositional layout value of type forms with a traditional inking method on paper. We were told to replicate existing typefaces, taking care of negative spacing, strokes/width, and neatness.

All of the typefaces I used in my work are somewhat connected to my personality.


Keywords being: Mood Driven, Rule breaker, Free-willed, Bold abrupt decision maker.

What I wanted my typeface to feature: Flowy (not too stiff), Legible, Not too complicated but has unique features.

This assignment required a whole lot of patience and a good sense of proportionality. I tried out three different layouts.

  1. In this I used two different kinds of typefaces, crafty and script.

  2. In the next one I inked out a 4 lettered word layouting the letters according to their size and dimensions on an A3 sheet with a bold typeface.

  3. For the last one I used two differeng typefaces to build my own nickname in lowercase letters using middle letters in a comparetively smaller size.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------
JOURNAL NOTES
-

For this assignment we had to analyse an existing typeface and recreate it learning its proportions, strokes, negative space.

This helped me understand the formation of strokes in a typeface and a slight idea of how a typeface is formed taking a given style throughout making it appear as a family altogether.


Below are the Uppercase and Lowercase letters of alphabets in english of the,

TYPEFACE: Hobeaux
Designer: James Edmondson


-

TYPE IN ENVIRONMENT

For this assignment we had to go out of the studio and find typeface in our environment and recreate one of them.


  • I went out, walked around for a few hours and clicked pictures of type I found interesting when I ended up picking a graffiti art I found on street wall.



  • I studied the strokes and the individual art style, arm movements and also studied about universal graffiti styles.

The Graffiti I found was named HOLLOWS. Hollow graffiti are the ones that has only one color is not filled inside.














  • After analysing strokes and arm movement on a small scale I used a bigger scale for my arm movements to be more precise and flowy.



  • I came up with a few words that match and go well with the typeface that I could recreate in my own way, Quirky, Kinky, Quitter, Twisted, Lopsided.


I went along with Kinky that went along the most with the Type and figured out the letter formation in the existing style.









RECREATION OF EXISTING TYPEFACE FOUND IN ENVIRONMENT:






Making of the Graffiti- Time Lapse






Failed attempt to do it on the floor- Time Lapse.

The spray can doesn't omit the paint properly when slanted towards the ground



-

TYPE RESEARCH POSTER

For this we had to pick any typeface and Study about it, the history, designer and the formation of the typeface and make a poster about it.

I picked out a Bold Typeface, METALISTA, usually representing Metal Genre of music.

-

In this assignment we had to pick 3 typefaces and make brief posters of analysing them and showing a glimpse of the any letter by studying and explaining the space and form.




Things I looked out for:

  • Proportions (Width, Height)

  • Contrast in Modelling

  • Construction (Broken strokes?)

  • Shapes (Curves, Variants)

  • Weight

  • Terminations style

  • Ascender, Descender

  • Key Characters (Crossbar)

  • Decoration

  • Contrast within family (Fonts)















-



Making sense of Typography in existing environment- Windchime

Figuring out alphabet formation in a windchime forming a typeface of its own. Family of letters in a windchime.






-

Extra Studio Activities


-

FINAL TYPEFACE





13 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page