top of page

LJL Mundane 2 Magnificent

This project helped me open my mind to new possibilities of paper. Different kids of techniques used on different kinds of paper made me familiar to the versality of paper. Experimenting new things, whether it was a failure or success, made this more fun. We were our own bosses and we just had to play with these objects given to us.


Manipulating Paper


In the beginning I could not make a cone. It took me an hour to figure out how to make the cone because my top side kept becoming hollow. After a few failures I understood the technique later. But I had some cones left with hollow top and then I got the idea, what if I just burned the paper from the top and kept it hollow. Thereafter In this piece I used 2 paper textures together by burning the paper and joining two cones to the existing one. I made these holes in the cones for the light to emit in the form of rays but at the end couldn't find a stronger light form. Burning paper was a task itself because I was at home and the fear of accidentally burning the furniture was real. I burned my fingers too, quite a lot, being my clumsy self. I think as far as my work is concerned I physically achieved what I was looking for mentally but only if the light was stronger my idea of the rays like that of a sun would've been possible.






With the technique of pulping, the rough instance of the original paper was changed into a soft one which hardened like a rock after it's drying process.

I wanted to name this piece 'The wave behind the hook'







'Beauty comes within the pain itself'

This was the hardest and the most effective side of my final cube project.

Cutting through the minute details on the sunboard sheet with knife was really hard. The many cuts my fingers ended up with and the muscle pain was all fruitful at the end. When I showed this piece to Pankaj sir, he told me I should create my own texture rather than taking out an existing one from the nature but told me to keep this side intact and explore more with the other ones.



Conclusion


My muddiest point from M2M would be the cut and slit method. I tried doing the cut and slit method for the non adhesive side of my cube but it needs a lot of patience (and more than two hands too?) I wasn't able to process that method alone because it was supposed to be on a large scale with small pieces and more density.

But I'm not giving up on it, I'll try doing it again later, find out my weak point and overcome it.

The clearest point I'd say was I knew I was having fun exploring and playing around.





0 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page